Stating the obvious it’s been a while since I’ve posted. For the record of the future, today is the day I started re-blogging my brews. The other posts that may come after/before this one are actually being FALSELY MARKETED into the past using wordpress’ time stamp tool.

Tuesday I started two batches of Lemon-Ginger mead, starting again an old recipe that I absolutely LOVE. The lemon adds just a slight bit of acidity (which helps the fermentation and the flavor) and the ginger gives just a slight “what was that?” kind of after taste. Neither one really over-powers the honey either, just complements it nicely. Recipe:

  • 1 gallon + 1 qt of honey (approximately 20lbs)
  • peel of 4 lemons, 1 whole lemon
  • 1.5oz fresh ginger, sliced
  • 1 tbsp of irish moss
  • 1 packet yeast (1 with D47, one with Pasteur Champagne yeast, same as original batch)

4 days in and they are both bubbling nicely. As a bonus! I added 1 tbsp of juniper berries to one, just to try something new. We’ll see how it goes; didn’t want to overpower it any.

 

