So Anna found and brought home a bottle of Founder’s Mango Magnifico beer which was amazing in every way. Being clever, about 5 minutes into the beer, she asks a question–the first question, the oldest question in the universe hidden in plain sight, “can we make a mead out of this?” So that day was born the idea of a mango habanero mead. With a couple additions of my own (orange juice cause I like the citrus flavor and what it does to the overall feel of the mead), we will have some pretty rocking mead in a couple months. Recipe:

  • 2lbs of frozen mango chunks (no need to get complicated trying to choose, buy, chop, sanitize the mango myself)
  • 60 oz bottle of Simply Orange high pulp OJ (note: this may be too much, I have traditionally used actual oranges but am trying something new. It may overpower the flavor of the mango and habanero)
  • 2 small habanero peppers, seeds removed (because they’re so hot!). Starting here, maybe adding some more in secondary if necessary
  • 5qt of honey (Bee Well wildflower)
  • 2.5tsp yeast nutrient
  • 2.5tsp irish moss
  • 1 packet D47 yeast, prepared according to package

For the record, I’m going to play around with the taste after primary a lot. I went way low on the habanero because I don’t want it to be too spicy. The amount of mango I used may not be enough–it looked a lot less in the bucket than it did when I bought it on the shelf. So we’ll see how it goes. Stats:

  • Started: 18 November 2013
